FES PhD student Reena Shadaan receives Nelson Mandela distinction for her research


Four York U grad students receive Nelson Mandela distinction for their research

York University master’s student Raghed Charabaty, and doctoral students Kyla Baird, Matthew Robertshaw and Reena Shadaan, have earned Canada Graduate Scholarships (CGS) in honour of Nelson Mandela.

The Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) and the Social Sciences & Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) select up to 10 master’s and doctoral Canada Graduate Scholarship recipients whose work is aligned with one or more of the five areas championed by Nelson Mandela: national unity; democracy, freedom and human rights; leadership; children’s participation in society; and children’s health.

Candidates selected are among the highest-ranked CGS award winners. Doctoral recipients receive funding of $35,000 per year for three years, and master’s recipients receive funding of $17,500 over one year.

Reena Shadaan – environmental studies
Shadaan is examining practices in the nail salon industry in partnership with the Healthy Nail Salon Network and the Nail Technicians’ Network in Toronto. The majority of her work has focused on justice movements in the aftermath of the Bhopal gas tragedy of 1984.

“Nail technicians face reproductive, respiratory, and dermatological issues due to toxic exposures in the workplace, and musculoskeletal issues due to the nature of their work,” she said. “Particularly in Canada, there is an absence of work on the health impacts and concerns of nail technicians due to their work environments – partly because this labour is deeply racialized, and comprised largely of immigrant women.

“My work looks at the gendered implications of environmental disasters (including slow disasters), with focus on those that involve toxic exposures. This includes health-related implications, and environmental justice and reproductive justice leadership and activism.”

Shadaan is currently a graduate associate with the Centre for Feminist Research, and is a member of the Endocrine Disruptors Action Group (EDAction).

Visit the SSHRC website for a full listing of CGS award recipients.

Files from Y-File. Read full article here.